setting up 55gallon african cichlid tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Chris86

Aquarium Advice Regular
I am looking at a new 55 gallon tank that i want to make into a african cichlid tank. The tank i am looking at comes with a uv sterilizer hydro filter and fluval 305 filter. I have looked up african cichlids and here are a list of the ones I like.
in order from ones i like most to lest
1 Demasoni Cichlid
2 Electric Yellow Cichlid
3 Elongatus Mpanga
4 Maingano
5 Yellow Peacock Cichlid
6 Red Zebra Cichlid

Out of these what ones can be housed together what cant. This is my first african tank I have read and watch youtube videos that you should over stock them so they are not as aggressive is this true?

I will have more questions but this will get me started

I am fairly new to the hobby as well, so hopefully someone with a bit more experience will join in. I have a 29 gal with a few small African cichlids as well as half a dozen tiger barbs and a red tail shark. I will be moving them to a 55 gallon tank very soon and adding a few more cichlids to them. The main problem when combining cichlids seems to be mixing African with new world cichlids and this is mainly due to the higher water temperature and pH of the African cichlids. The best tool I have found on species information is on liveaquaria.com this site shows stats on most species for temp, pH, size, and aggression. As well as gives a little description. If you check each one you have in mind on there you should be able to see if they are compatible. As long as the required water conditions are similar and the species has a similar size and temperament you should be okay. The other factors to consider are avoiding species that look to similar and attempting to house multiple females with a single male to avoid aggression with mating and territory wars. From my experience with t