Share your experience with shelldwellers?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sinibotia

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hello everyone! This is my 1st post here. I've been keeping fish for 11 years now but never once have I had african cichlids of any kind! However, I recently moved into a house near my university and set up two 20 gallons with the intent of breeding some fish. At my previous residence the water was just too soft to pass up doing lots of south american fish; where I am now the water is very hard and so I'd like to try something new, and shelldwellers seem to be a really good fit.

I've been reading as much as I can but right now one thing in particular is overwhelming me- there are quite a few species of shelldwellers, and I dont know which ones are readily available (I have no lfs here, so really I have to order online anyway) or best suited for the aquarium . What are the pros and cons of different species? In particular, I'm looking for people's personal experiences with keeping them, as I'm not sure I understand the differences enough to know which I'd prefer.

The species that seem like the best candidates are multis, brevis and occelatus.

Oh, and if you have any good pictures of your own shelldweller tanks and the fish themselves I'd love to see them! Thanks!

You nailed it, brevis, ocellatus, and multifasciatus are the best "starter" shellie an the three most readily available! There are many species, like caudopunctatus, similis, meleagris, etc. and there are several collection points of each species, so there are many to chose from. Multies are going to be probably the easiest species, and are nearly indestructible from my experience with them. If I were to redo my shellie colony, I would probably go with the caudopunctatus or ocellatus "gold". I really like those two species.