So.....what are my options if I stock my tank with African Cichlids?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rolltide1980

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Ok so I'm somewhat new to the aquarium lifestyle, I've had tanks before but they were already stocked and given to me. I aquired a 75 gallon tank and I originally planned on going with an Oscar and a few various cichlids. I am embarrassed to say this but I didn't know the difference between Africans and South Americans as far as which particular Cichlid belongs to which species, I bought gravel for my new tank and I was persuaded into buying gravel specifically for African Cichlids, supposedly helps slightly raise the pH level to a level that African Cichlids are acclimated.
Anyways I was at the time unaware that Oscars are part of the South American family and I really shouldn't have bought the gravel if I was planning on buying an Oscar. So I'm thinking I'll just stock Africans instead, so my question is this; if I decide to go with African Cichlids, what else can I add that will coexist with minimal conflict? I appreciate any help I get, I'm still a noob lol.

I appreciate the heads up. I know Oscars can sometimes get huge, up to 12 inches or more, just assumed that they only grow as big as their environment. I do think that I will forget about getting an Oscar and mainly stick to African Cichlids as that seems to be my best option.

It's really experimental when doing mixed species, that's why I do single species only tanks...but I can suggest some peaceful cichlids that may co-exist.

1.) Lethrinops "Red Cap" Chirwa (peaceful w/other species, aggressive towards it's own kind)

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1406872186.735750.jpg

2.)Otopharynx Lithobates Yellow Blaze
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1406872291.257896.jpg

3.) Auloncara Dragonblood
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1406872763.867161.jpg