Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-09-2014, 10:51 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Bmac1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 126
Tank upgrade

Hey all... Upgrading to a 125... My question is if I transfer all my sand and rock along with some water will I have to go through another cycle?.. I have a Rena xl running and will be adding at least another that size to new tank... Will I be good to go?...
__________________

__________________
Bmac1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 10:55 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Cichlid.Keeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 303
I have recently done this as well but also I put the same filter media into the new filter. I had the tank looking dark brown for a day then I changed the filter foam pad(canister), tank cleared up and I put the fish in in the same day. Worked great. All though I did buy some complete cycle 35$ bacteria for a "full" cycle not sure if it did anything.
__________________

__________________
Cichlid.Keeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 11:00 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Bmac1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 126
Thanks for the reply... I thought I will be good .... Just need to hear that it's a good plan... Here is my 72 now..Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1392001233.140283.jpg
Views:	166
Size:	214.5 KB
ID:	221775
__________________
Bmac1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 11:08 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Cichlid.Keeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bmac1972 View Post
Thanks for the reply... I thought I will be good .... Just need to hear that it's a good plan... Here is my 72 now..Attachment 221775

Be careful though if you have the time to cycle for 2-3 days I would. I was just in a rush with renovations and stuff. Make sure you have some nice and dirty filter media with a ton of beneficial bacteria. And it will work like a charm.
__________________
Cichlid.Keeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 11:16 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Bmac1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 126
Tank has been running for a year so I am keeping the filter I am running now and adding another.. Will transfer some media into new canister ...
__________________
Bmac1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 12:19 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
jeh1487's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 61
Is this SW or fresh
__________________
jeh1487 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 12:26 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
josh7's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,175
It's a freshwater tank those are African cichlids.
__________________
josh7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 12:29 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeh1487 View Post
Is this SW or fresh
You will know if its saltwater or freshwater by where the thread is located if your wondering. I saw you asked that in another thread
__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 12:42 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Bmac1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 126
Freshwater.... African cichlids
__________________
Bmac1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 11:16 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Cichlid.Keeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bmac1972 View Post
Tank has been running for a year so I am keeping the filter I am running now and adding another.. Will transfer some media into new canister ...

Good luck!!
__________________
Cichlid.Keeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 12:35 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
SonicsDC25's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 403
As long as you also keep the same filter media and don't add any fish to your stock you're fine. You might see an ammonia spike of .25ppm for 1-2 days while your BB re-establishes itself, so make sure to do a PWC or buy some Seachem Stability/Prime.
__________________
55g: Malawi Mbuna/Peacock Tank (OLD)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GIGdZwpvfLg
140G Malawi Peacock/Hap Tank (NEW)
(Vid Coming Soon)
SonicsDC25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 03:10 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Bmac1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 126
Thanks... Use prime for every water change..will def wait to add any fish ....
__________________
Bmac1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 08:02 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
FrankoQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: MD
Posts: 213
How did it go?

I'm about to upgrade a Malawi tank from 90 to 180.
Will reuse the current FX5 and will add a new FX5.

Now thinking about the logistics to do the swap as the new tank needs to go where the old one was.
__________________
Deny everything!
FrankoQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 08:40 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Bmac1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 126
Did not do it yet... Will prob be in the summer..... Mine is going from main floor to the basement so yours is a little more tricky.... How about getting one of those big hard plastic storage bins from Home Depot to keep the fish while u make the swap..
__________________
Bmac1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 05:45 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
FrankoQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: MD
Posts: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bmac1972 View Post
Did not do it yet... Will prob be in the summer..... Mine is going from main floor to the basement so yours is a little more tricky.... How about getting one of those big hard plastic storage bins from Home Depot to keep the fish while u make the swap..
Good idea.
I might get a 55g trash can to move the water out of the old tank.
Storage bins for the fish.
then remove filter and stuff from old one a move out of the way
then bring new tank and start putting it together.

wish me luck. I hope my fishy are ok in this process.
__________________
Deny everything!
FrankoQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 05:56 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Bmac1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 126
Good luck.... Post a pic when finished!
__________________
Bmac1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 11:52 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
FrankoQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: MD
Posts: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bmac1972 View Post
Good luck.... Post a pic when finished!
I will, but it will be a couple of weeks before it gets ready.
I picked it up yesterday.
__________________
Deny everything!
FrankoQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 01:25 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
krazynammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 23
I just transfer all my fish from my 135 gallon to my 250 gallon tank and refused all old filters and sump . Did it two days ago and tested the water everything is good so far.
__________________
krazynammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 01:45 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Bmac1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 126
That must b some tank krazy.... Post a pic... Would love to see that beast
__________________
Bmac1972 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 01:59 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
krazynammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 23
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1394470748.010927.jpg
Views:	106
Size:	148.3 KB
ID:	227040

Custom built stand
__________________

__________________
krazynammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan, tank, tank upgrade, upgrade

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Tank Build Thread! 55 Gallon tank upgrade! baron1282 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 33 06-05-2013 12:22 PM
I may have just gotten me a free tank upgrade... Big time upgrade! Mrs.h2012 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 21 09-14-2012 04:01 PM
To upgrade or not to upgrade? JennaSimpson Saltwater Reef Aquaria 13 05-15-2012 08:08 PM
New 75gal tank, to upgrade or second tank? Magma Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 10-29-2010 06:14 PM
Upgrade to a 55 tank Fish Lips Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 02-07-2003 10:18 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.