tankmates for oscar ??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dnb4me_209

Aquarium Advice Newbie
what would make a good addition to this tank, if anything?
currently tank is 60gal, and houses my tiger oscar and a trinidad pleco.
various plastic plants, a home made tunnel, and a few pieces of driftwood making a nice tunnel complex for the pleco. i'll attach a picture for viewing as well. i was thinking of an eel maybe or maybe 3 or so smaller fish (i know knothing smaller than his mouth though, hes a good eater already. :lol: any sugestions would be great.

I'm new to owning an Oscar...but from all I've read and from what people have told me here on this forum...my tank is too small for my single oscar. I know you said your tank was a 60gal but from the pic it looks like the same 55gal I have...either way five gallons is not much different. I guess the point is, when your Oscar and pleco are full grown your tank will be over crowded as it is..so you don't really have any room for a new tank mate. i know this isn't what you want to hear but it is something you should consider.

I'm a new oscar owner too, and I've heard pretty much the same thing. After seeing how nasty these things are, even at 3", I'm not really suprised to here it either. I was planning for mine to be in my 75 gallon living room tank with a green terror, but decided to move him into my 120 gallon tank that I have in my computer room so house guests won't be thoroughly disgusted by all of the huge fish turds/half eaten food floating around in the tank. :lol: Be ready to purchase extra filtration for your tank, if you haven't already.

filtration is of no issue for the tank size

im using hang on filters...1x emperor 400 (400gph) and 1x AquaClear50 (200gph) on a 60gal tank. thats 10x turnover per hour. and from what i have heard 10x should be enough.