Testing my tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

H3R3F1SHY

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey guys I'm new to the aquarium world and was wondering if there were any specs on the levels of ph ammonia nitrate that you should have in your tank?

For PH, it depends on the fish, some like the African cichlids like a higher PH, new worlds lower, but I'm not an expert on the new worlds, but I read a lot of posts here. As for ammonia and nitrites, you want 0.0.

Welcome to Aquarium Advice,

The water conditions should be as followed.

Ammonia 0ppm
Nitrite. 0ppm
Nitrate. 0-20ppm
PH 6-8.5 is fine, just keep is stable

Thanks for the advice if I would need to lower the ammonia how would I do so safely

Have cycled the tank? Or did you get a tank, put some water and decor in it, and then add fish. Unfortunately, a lot of stores, especially the chain stores don't explain about cycling. There are one good articles on here about both fish in and fish less cycling. Cycling is the process of establishing beneficial bacteria in your filter. These BB are what convert he ammonia into nitrites, and then the nitrites into nitrates. Nitrates are removed by doing partial water changes. What are your parameters in the tank right now, how long has the tank been set up, and do you have fish in it.

H3R3F1SHY said:
Thanks for the advice if I would need to lower the ammonia how would I do so safely

Hate to be the guy to say this but.......are you up to date on the nitrogen cycle?