Trouble with German Blue Rams, sexing?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hennaartist

Aquarium Advice Freak
I'm having some trouble with my rams. While I am not new to fish keeping, I am fairly new to rams. I have them in a 55 gallon, with rocks, plants, and lots of caves. I've had these 3 rams for a couple weeks. They are approximately 1.25 inches. I have thought they were all female because there is no difference in dorsal fin height, they have just a little blue within their side dot, and black on the pelvic fins. They were very stressed at first, and two regained their color quickly. The 3rd is slightly smaller and rarely shows any color (I believe it's stress). They constantly chase each other and ram each other. (Except for the smaller colorless one it just runs.)

Anyway, I would like to know for sure what sex they are? If this is the problem? If adding 1 or 2 more of a different sex would help (along with more plants upon adding them) or what I should do? ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1390189428.795415.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1390189614.462221.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1390189633.306212.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1390189657.983240.jpg

Hi. They all look like girls to me. I would personally swap it about so that you have 2 males and 2 females in the tank and let them work out if they are going to pair up or not. You will need to have a lot of plants, ornaments and several caves in the tank so that they can work out their territory's and can get out of line of sight of each other which would cut down the chances of aggression between them. :)