Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 02-04-2004, 11:52 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Trying to find a friend for an oscar...

I have a friend who has had a 65 gal tank for about 10 years which has housed a few different groupings of oscars and a now venerable pleco. His oldest oscar (I think he said 8 years) recently died. He replaced it (with another oscar) and is now looking for a suitable tankmate(s). He enjoys how interactive oscars are, but would appreciate a change.

I am new to the hobby (it is transgressing into a lifestyle, my wife recently told me that I was talking about fish in my sleep) and have done nearly all my research online. I told him that I found a fantastic forum and should be able to find some answers for him. So, I would be greatful if anyone could give me some sound advise on oscar-tolerant fish to pass on to my friend.

Rob.

Old 02-05-2004, 12:20 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus

How big is the Oscar that he already has?? There are plenty of other Central/South American cichlids that will get along pretty well with Oscars. He might consider something like the Jack Dempsey (Cichlasoma (Nandopsis) octofasciatum), the Green Terror (Aequidens rivulatus), or the Firemouth Cichlid (Thorichthys meeki). All of those fish can take care of themselves if they're not too much smaller than your Oscar. Pike Cichlids (Crenicichla) will also make reasonably good tank-mates.

Smaller fish like most tetras, livebearers, etc. are simply going to make flashy and colorful meals for a big cichlid like an Oscar. Any catfish you put in should also be large enough to withstand the Oscar's attentions. Big 'plecostomus'-type cats would be good.

Old 02-05-2004, 07:32 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

Send a message via ICQ to ferret Send a message via AIM to ferret