Why are my cichlids always at the back of the tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jvbfamily

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi experts,

I am new to the hobby and have been really enjoying it. First off I would like to thank members in advance with any advice given.

Now I have 2 problems. I have 2 x 55 gallons.

Both have white sand and will be used to house cichlids.

Currently I have 1 tank with fish in them (yellow labs, snow whites, jewels, and Victorian cichlids along with 1 angel)
My first question is I never get to see them as they are always in the back of the tank by the window. Is there something that makes them stay back there and not come to the front? I intentionally put the rock formations in the middle in hopes some will be visible at all times.

Now my second tank same setup housing 2 Oscars. Doing fine, but this tank seems to be cloudy constantly and it just won't go away. Washed prior to setup the same as other tank as I setup both at the same time. It's been 1 week and no difference. Oscars are doing well but don't understand why the water hasn't cleared up. Is there something I can add or do? (Water changes don't seem to work)

Thanks

Wow, your cichlid tank has gone kind of crazy with the stocking.

-First tank-
The cichlids you picked to go together really don't match with their needed water parameters.

The jeweled and angels are south american cichlids and prefer pH below 7.

The rest of the cichlids are africans and prefer a pH of 8.0 or higher.

Furthermore, you have the snow white and yellow labs which are fairly aggressive rock dwelling Mbuna in with Victorian cichlids which are generally less aggressive. Following that, Mbuna need to be stocked at a fairly specific ratio of males to females to avoid aggression.