Yellow Lab Holding?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

emmamc91

Aquarium Advice Regular
I have a 2/2.5inch yellow lab female, seems to be holding, under her mouth seems saggy etc, constantly hidden inside a certain rock, not eating... All the symptoms..

My question is she's been hiding for a while so I don't know how long she's been holding, so I don't want to try and strip, only for it to be too early.. As its my first time..

Also, if I was to leave her to spit naturally, would they survive? I do have a lot of rockwork, but I have quite a pain in the backside of an auratus that bothers everything when he feels like, would the fry find a safe gap in the rocks? Or be naive enough to wonder out and down the auratus' throat?

Any help would be great... Thanks

Emma ;)

You'd be surprised how smart fry can be, they are little survivalists. Id say heavily plant with dense fake plants for maximum chances.
Bear in mind, if its her first brood, she may not hold to term.

Here's some pics...

Attachments

• image-2692547900.jpg
    image-2692547900.jpg
    111.1 KB · Views: 105
  • image-899701989.jpg
    image-899701989.jpg
    102.2 KB · Views: 100
  • image-1811767674.jpg
    image-1811767674.jpg
    152.2 KB · Views: 98
She seems to be coming out more all of a sudden, as though looking for somewhere to spit, had an episode of trying to dig.. Is there anything you'd recommend, or shall I just leave her be? x

I'd say keep an eye out for her taking small pieces of food to eat... When that happens you can strip. They usually hold about 31 days

It's almost asif I can see them moving in her mouth, in the pouch... She keeps doing a strange gulpy type movement asif she's stopping them from swimming out... Got nowhere to put them if I stripped them now though :/