12 g nano cube

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fattonynoriega

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have a 12 g nano cube and it is in its third day of cycling. I only have 1 piece of live rock in there now and live sand. What would u guys suggest me putting in there (more live rock, what kind of fish/corals). I am completely new to the saltwater world so any advise would be much appreciated.

Maybe more rock ( live or dry) until it's done cycling. Don't add any fish until the tank is cycled. You an add a piece of raw shrimp to help the cycling.

Thanks for the reply. The lfs gave me a cube of something to help the cycle. Would u recommend the raw shrimp. And how many ponds of rock should I put in the tank. Thanks again

I would recommend the raw shrimp. Raw shrimp works pretty quick in a nano tank. I used it in my biocube 14 and it only took a week.

Generally, you should have 1-2 pounds of rock per gallon. If you get dry rock, it will become live over time, so no worries.

I would definitely have about 10 pounds of total rock in there at least. I also would not add any livestock until a few days after cycling completes. I agree with the shrimp idea. It cycled my 90 gallon tank pretty quickly, and I am planning on using the process for my 29 gallon biocube that I will order soon. I am doing some mod on it so I am taking my time :)

Some more live rock and the shrimp. How will I know when the tank is fully cycled

Do you have a liquid test kit? You can monitor the cycle that way and then you will know exactly when it's ready. :)

Thanks Carey. I just read aquaricks article on the whole procedure. Alot of good info for me to follow. Thanks again