Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Nano Reefs
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-20-2012, 11:27 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

12gallon Edge Nano Nubie

Hello All,
I'm new to all of this, but my brother has had many tanks. I set up a 12 gallon saltwater, I know I heard its tough and that I'll probably fail. But I thougt I'd give it a shot. Just added a skunk shrimp, bumble bee snail, and one damsel to help cycle. Anyone have any advise? Lol
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3637259908.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	152.7 KB
ID:	113684   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2833616743.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	146.0 KB
ID:	113685  

Name:	image-707561410.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	141.8 KB
ID:	113686  

Old 08-20-2012, 11:36 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by Claval01
Hello All,
I'm new to all of this, but my brother has had many tanks. I set up a 12 gallon saltwater, I know I heard its tough and that I'll probably fail. But I thougt I'd give it a shot. Just added a skunk shrimp, bumble bee snail, and one damsel to help cycle. Anyone have any advise? Lol
Don't have the I'll fail attitude you never know!! The damsel isn't to cycle your tank. I would have waiting for the snail and Shrimp. When you start getting diatom algae then 2 snails should good to help clean up.

The damsel is very very aggressive and in a small tank like that, of he makes it through the cycle it will definitely pick on anything you put on there.

What kind of lighting are you using? Are you planning on corals?

You can cycle a tank using a raw shrimp in a net and let it just decompose in the tank.

Do you have all necessary testing kits? And you'll need a refractometer to measure your salinity and you'll have to watch for evaporation. It's open top?