12gallon Edge Nano Nubie

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Claval01

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello All,
I'm new to all of this, but my brother has had many tanks. I set up a 12 gallon saltwater, I know I heard its tough and that I'll probably fail. But I thougt I'd give it a shot. Just added a skunk shrimp, bumble bee snail, and one damsel to help cycle. Anyone have any advise? Lol

Attachments

• image-3637259908.jpg
    image-3637259908.jpg
    152.7 KB · Views: 77
  • image-2833616743.jpg
    image-2833616743.jpg
    146 KB · Views: 70
  • image-707561410.jpg
    image-707561410.jpg
    141.8 KB · Views: 74
Claval01 said:
Hello All,
I'm new to all of this, but my brother has had many tanks. I set up a 12 gallon saltwater, I know I heard its tough and that I'll probably fail. But I thougt I'd give it a shot. Just added a skunk shrimp, bumble bee snail, and one damsel to help cycle. Anyone have any advise? Lol

Don't have the I'll fail attitude you never know!! The damsel isn't to cycle your tank. I would have waiting for the snail and Shrimp. When you start getting diatom algae then 2 snails should good to help clean up.

The damsel is very very aggressive and in a small tank like that, of he makes it through the cycle it will definitely pick on anything you put on there.

What kind of lighting are you using? Are you planning on corals?

You can cycle a tank using a raw shrimp in a net and let it just decompose in the tank.

Do you have all necessary testing kits? And you'll need a refractometer to measure your salinity and you'll have to watch for evaporation. It's open top?

You'll need RO water or distilled water for top offs. Salt doesn't evaporate so of the water level gets low the salinity gets higher and can stress things out like coral,fish etc...

Just some things I wanted to point out. I'll others chime in.