Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Nano Reefs
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-11-2012, 06:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Nytelighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Stafford, Virginia
Posts: 132
20L Nano Reef Build

So after having a 55 Gal Freshie for about the past year and researching like crazy on this site about SW, I've finally decided to try my hand at a nano tank. My endstate is to eventually turn it into a reef but I'll be taking baby steps towards that. Petco has that awesome $1 per gallon sale so I snatched up a 20L to start my project. Hopefully with all the experience around here on this site, I can get input to help me build an awesome tank. I'll be posting pics of my progress as well as posting questions to get inputs on certain aspects of the build. Here is the empty canvas. [/IMG]
__________________

__________________
Nytelighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 12:59 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
obscurereef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,301
Awesome! Really want to see this come to life. Keep us updated and I'll try and help with anything I can and I'm sure others would love to express their opinions/give advice.
__________________

__________________
“Success is walking from failure to failure with no loss of enthusiasm.”

- Winston Churchill
obscurereef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 12:56 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Nytelighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Stafford, Virginia
Posts: 132
Thanks obscure. Just got done painting the background black today. My next step is finding plans for building a tank stand for a 20L. Any suggestions?
__________________
Nytelighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 11:00 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Nytelighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Stafford, Virginia
Posts: 132
Smile


Here is my progress on the stand so far. I think she will hold up just fine. I'll work on closing her up this weekend and then the focus will be on getting the tank ready for cycling.
__________________
Nytelighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 02:56 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
obscurereef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,301
Looks great! What size wood did you use for making it? What are you using for the doors or not making a traditional cabinet door? I'd like to see how this turns b/c I might do a DIY stand soon
__________________
“Success is walking from failure to failure with no loss of enthusiasm.”

- Winston Churchill
obscurereef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 06:38 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Nytelighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Stafford, Virginia
Posts: 132
I used 2X3 studs to make the frame. Looking to make it into a traditional stand using plywood to make the doors and close up the sides, with some moulding on the doors and around the top where the tank sits so it will look recessed. Not too expensive at all except I had to purchase a couple tools but I don't mind because I needed some new toys anyway
__________________
Nytelighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 11:29 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Nytelighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Stafford, Virginia
Posts: 132
Looking to start purchasing pieces to put my tank together. Had a questions on power heads. For a 20L, should I go with two Koralia 425s or should I do one 425 and one 240?
__________________
Nytelighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 12:50 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cookeville, TN
Posts: 744
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nytelighter
Looking to start purchasing pieces to put my tank together. Had a questions on power heads. For a 20L, should I go with two Koralia 425s or should I do one 425 and one 240?
I use two koralia 425's on my 20 long. Petmountain.com had them cheaper than anybody else, and then Marine depot price matched then.
__________________
Rhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 01:23 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Nytelighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Stafford, Virginia
Posts: 132
Thanks man. I went to Pet Mountain and ordered two Koralia 425s, an Aquaclear 50, and Coralife HO T5 (30 Inch). Looking at getting an 4 Stage RO/DI and Refractometer from BRS. Any advice on what brand/type of substrate to go with?
__________________
Nytelighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 03:01 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
obscurereef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,301
I use caribsea aragonite sand. Forgot the exact size, but it is closest to sugar fine. Wouldn't recommend sugar fine sand though...have it in my refugium and it blows easily with really low flow and just gets everywhere.
__________________
“Success is walking from failure to failure with no loss of enthusiasm.”

- Winston Churchill
obscurereef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 07:02 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Nytelighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Stafford, Virginia
Posts: 132
Cool, I'm still debating on what to get. Anyways, I ordered the Four Stage Plus RO/DI, 20 lbs of Pukani Dry Live Rock, and Refractometer from BRS. Almost done with my stand too!!!
__________________
Nytelighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 12:29 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Nytelighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Stafford, Virginia
Posts: 132



So finally have an update. Tank stand is almost completed. All that's left are the doors and the subfloor inside. I bought a Brute 20 Gallon and mixed up my saltwater for 48 hours at 1.025. Put my aquascape together with a little help from JB Weld Waterweld...stuff worked like a charm. Tank now has about 30lbs of Caribsea Fiji Pink Aragonite sand, about 15 lbs of BRS dry Pukani (the rest will be live rock from LFS), two Koralia 425, Aquaclear 50, and Aqueon heater.

Anyone know if I should run carbon is the aquaclear?
__________________
Nytelighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 09:01 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Masoniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 606
I run carbon and purigen
__________________
Masoniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 10:32 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Nytelighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Stafford, Virginia
Posts: 132
Do you run the sponge at the bottom, followed by carbon, then purigen on top?
__________________
Nytelighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 10:59 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Masoniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 606
I put the carbon then purigen but I don't see the difference
__________________
Masoniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 04:26 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Nytelighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Stafford, Virginia
Posts: 132
Okay, makes sense. Also should I added 7 lbs of live rock and a shrimp to start my cycle. Should I be running carbon during my cycle?
__________________
Nytelighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 04:46 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TigerBarbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,212
You dont need it during your cycle and it would be a waste. Some people never run it. I do though in a BRS reactor
__________________
TigerBarbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 08:03 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Nytelighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Stafford, Virginia
Posts: 132
Thanks. I'll probably run it for a while and then run without to see what difference it makes.

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4002626995.jpg
Views:	196
Size:	127.7 KB
ID:	133772
__________________
Nytelighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 12:20 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Nytelighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Stafford, Virginia
Posts: 132
Tank has been cycling for about a week now and my pH is still registering at 7.8. I've read that it needs to be more around 8.2 to 8.4. Do I need to add anything to get the pH up?
__________________
Nytelighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 08:34 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Beengirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nytelighter View Post
Tank has been cycling for about a week now and my pH is still registering at 7.8. I've read that it needs to be more around 8.2 to 8.4. Do I need to add anything to get the pH up?
You can use Kent's Buffer. It works.
__________________

__________________
Beengirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
build, nano, nano reef, reef, reef build

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.