3 (us) gallon tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

karlj

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I saw a 3 gallon tank at a local bargain shop, it was cheap enough but will it be any good for nano reef?

I've never kept reef fish before and I though this would be a good start, or is it too small to be managable?

A 3 gallon tank can be used as a reef tank but I would recommend it as a coral and shrimp tank only with no fish... Even that depends on the type of filtration that is in the tank.... Do you have any pics by any chance.

Didn't think to take any pictures, will get some next time I'm in town

Would it be manageable for a complete noob?

A system this small will experience temp, salinity, and overall parameter swings much faster due to the small body of water. If you've never kept saltwater before then i would highly reccomend starting with atleast a 20 gallon to give you more room for error. Also something to keep in mind when dealing with nano and pico tanks is don't even waste your money on a hydrometer and get yourself a refractometer.

Yeah I don't see why not... I know people that manage a 2.5g with no issues... Provided you have a good filter and maintain weekly water changes... I don't see any issue as to why you cannot... But once again I recommend NO FISH in such a small tank :)

Thank you for the advise and I wasn't looking at getting any fish (after giving it some thought)

I've been reading this is there anything else worth reading?

Thank you for the advise and I won't get any fish

Is there any reading material you can recommend?

Look through aquarium advice's article section and you should find some articles that'll point you in the right direction. If not then just come back and ask the forum.