5 gallon Nano Reef Build

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ibrahim

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hi, I'm new to the nano reef and all tips would be greatly appreciated as I am trying to establish a 5 gallon reef with 2 Clownfish (Haven't Decided which kind yet), 5 hermit crabs, 1 turbo snails, 5 nassariius snails, and if possible a peppermint shrimp. As well as 5-10 pounds of live rock, some Zoanthids, Mushrooms, and LPS. Please let me know if this is too much. I may either live sand or black sand mixed with 1 cup of live sand to seed it with. As far as lighting I'm planning on going with a 14" PC 24 w Oddysea set up.

Hi there!

I'm always erring on the side of caution but i think 2 clowns might be a tad much. They can grow to a couple inches. :)

Otherwise your plan sounds great. Zooa's are so easy to keep and they are usually cheap lol

I thought so too. Should I get a 2 occelaris clowns since the don't grow much passed 3". The tank is 16"x8"x12.

:-( that still seems like alot of fish in such a small tank. After rock and sand you'll have like 2.5 gallons of water in there.
You could get one cool centerpiece fish and surround the area around the rocks with colorful corals. Plus you can get a few shrimp, real low bioload on them. I'm working on a biocube myself and it kinda stinks about the number of fish you can have.

edit** I don't mean to be the bad guy, just my opinion. maybe someone else will chime in

I think 2 of any clowns is over your limit. They're all too large for a tank that small as well as just being generally messy fish.

Thanks I haven't bought anything yet. I want to get a mated pair that already are hosting an anemone about 4" that I saw at my LFS. Should I reserve those clown fish(They are a false percula pair) and use a 10 gallon instead of a 5.