Advice on 10 gallon livestock please?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ArtsyAxolotl

Aquarium Advice Newbie
First of all, Hello! I'm new to the forum and was looking for some help deciding on what to add to my 10 gallon nano. :)

I guess I can give you some background on my process so far. This is my first time working with a nano, so I'm trying to take my time and learn as much as I can before making any decisions. I'm currently figuring out cycling with cured live rock. I purchased about 13lbs of fully cured live rock and have been letting it cycle for about a week and a half. I saw the nitrates rise via feeding the empty tank, but nothing else. No ammonia, no nitrite. Supposedly that's because the rock is fully cured, so that would have been good to know, haha. I then tested to make sure the tank is cycling by adding 1ppm of ammonia; sure enough, the ammonia dropped today and the nitrite rose.

Hopefully, if all goes well, I should see the ammonia and nitrite drop off the chart and I can do my water change to get rid of that pesky nitrate. and please, let me know if I'm incorrect about any of this; I want to learn about the hobby and make sure that I'm doing the best I can and I always learn best from others with experience rather than books or articles.

Anyway, I'm close enough to finishing cycling that I want to start thinking about tank inhabitants. My main goals for the aquarium were, at minimum, to have a pair of clownfish. They were my late grandfather's favorite animal and he would have loved to have had some. I plan on getting 2 ocellaris clowns, and that would be it for fish as I know 10 gallons for a pair of clowns is pushing it.