Am I missing anything?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

24 hours? NE!

Aquarium Advice Freak
I'm a newbie and I'm just looking for any advice I can get. I just got started with a saltwater tank 5+ months ago. I thought I researched it enough, but now I feel I'm in over my head. I've got a very friendly LFS, but I don't know if he's talked me into too much.

Here's my setup:
I've got a 25 gallon acrylic tank with an Eclipse 2 hood. I upgraded the lights to 55 watts (they are set to a timer for 8-10 hours a day). I've got a Hagen Powerhead 201 (for extra current in the middle back of the tank- it's suggested for up to a 20 gallon tank), 25-35 pounds of LR, live sand and of course a heater. I've got a Sea Clone 100 protein skimmer that I'm going to install in the next day or two. My setup is largely at the suggestion of my LFS (the protein skimmer was at my inquiry).

My nitrites, ammonia and Ph are good, but my nitrates have been in the 60-80+ ppm for the last week or two. I've been doing partial water changes the last 3 weeks to get them under control, but that only helps temporarily. I'm hoping the protein skimmer will take care of this problem.

Here's my inhabitants:
Pardon my newbieness with the names (I'm going by what my LFS calls them). I've got 2 Dominoe damsels (about 3 inches long), 2 yellow-tailed blue damsels (about 2 inches long), 2 clowns (I'm pretty sure ocellaris) (about 2 and 1-1/2 inches long), and a small blue tang (about 1-1/2 inch).

I also have a bubble-tip anemone (which both clowns have taken to (and one of the dominoes once in a while)), a cleaner shrimp, a fire shrimp, a turbo snail, an emerald crab, a blue-legged hermit and a purple nudibranch (or is it a sea slug?).