Bio cube skimmer and an aquapod??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

joshr

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello,

I currently just set up my 24 gallon aquapod with the following equipment

Hydor flo
Magfloat
lr rubble

For some I guess "livestock" I guess i have

22 blue legged hermits
22.6lbs of Fiji premium live rock

Ive been adding the following chemicals for about 2 weeks now

Kent marine essential elements
Kent marine Liquid calcium
Kent marine Iodine
Purple up

My perimeters are,

Nitrate-0
Ammonia-0
PH-8.2
Nitrite-0

Can I have an Oceanic bio cube skimmer in the back of my aquapod chamber since I heard bad things about the Current Fission nano skimmer.

By the way I am an newbie to the saltwaterfish hobby! So this is my first tank:eek2:
Please post your oppinions!
Thanks,
Josh

Attachments

• PICT0077.jpg
    PICT0077.jpg
    63.4 KB · Views: 98
Just wanted to say Welcome to the site! Can't help you with your questions, but I'm sure the salties will be along shortly.

Just wanted to say Welcome to the site! Can't help you with your questions, but I'm sure the salties will be along shortly.
'

Btw I forgot do you think the hydorflo is enough for flow or should I get an powersweep thing:confused:

Has this tank been cycled yet? Is that fully cured LR or is just base rock?
Did you see an increase in ammonia followed by a drop and an increase in nitrites, then a drop followed by an increase in nitrates?
If not, why do you have 22 hermits in there?

WHY are you adding chemicals to a new tank? Especially IODINE which can kill in higher doses. Do you have an iodine test? (RULE #3. Never add anything you don't for first.)

Almost everything you need in the tank is accomplished via normal partial water changes (10% - 20% per week) (RULE #2 Regular PWC's are your friend).

RULE #1 - Nothing GOOD ever happens FAST in a SW tank.