Biocube and heat issues.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Convict2161

Aquarium Advice Addict
I have a build thread but I figured it probably died down a bit since the whole thing with my African Cichlid tank. Anyway, I've been toying with going topless or not, upgrading the lights or not, I'm new to it and feel part of me what's to get the best lights or at least good lights other then stock an part of me says eh.... It looks sleek and stylish caddy corner in the bedroom why mess with it. Well... I already have the egg grate and netting cut to size, just in case.

So the issue at hand I the heat, I got home from work and it was like 81-82 in my cube. I took the top off and but the crate/netting on top for now. To let the heat out.

So I guess the question is.... How do you deal with your cube heat?

My wife likes it better with the top on btw... But is willing to buy a light upgrade because she absolutely fell in love with the tank and bought a magazine and wants this this and that and more of this lol.

What to do.... What to do.... ????

I would definitly go with a top. You dont wanna wake up to see fish on the ground, its horrible. Maybe make some type of mesh iron top? I am not sure how to reduce heat. Good luck!

Nu-Nu the eel said:
I would definitly go with a top. You dont wanna wake up to see fish on the ground, its horrible. Maybe make some type of mesh iron top? I am not sure how to reduce heat. Good luck!

Thanks Nu Nu I did make this and it has a screen top that goes on top.

View attachment 74089

Then here's the problem I would need a light fixture. I've been looking around and Mr. X has been very helpful in giving me direction in where to go. I was looking at the 6 bulb aquaticLife fixture and then upgrading the bulbs to ATI's.

I dunno just throwing out my thoughts since the African tank is quiet :)

Last edited: