Coral life bio cube 14

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

enervate7

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello everyone,

I'm just purchase a coral life biocube. I'm new to saltwater aquariums. Can anyone just explain to me on the process of setting up the tank to get a reef nano aquarium ? Is it necessary to purchase protein skimmer ? As far as buying live sand and salt mixes ..what other items do I need? Also I heard about Ro water system is that necessary or there's a different alternative to produce purify water for the aquarium ( least expensive)

Any advice will help?

Protein skimmers can be skipped in small nano systems as it is easier to do larger water changes if needed. You don't need to buy your sand or rock as live, you can get macro/base rock to save on money for other things. In terms of salt mixes, the basic mix will do most of the time.
RO water is a big help in saltwater setups, but we usually try to aim for ro/di water. Some people are lucky enough that they have great tap water, but it is very very unlikely to be ok. You can pick up nice ro/di units from ebay or bulkreefsupply.com that will do what you need. It looks like a huge price, but not having massive battles with algae and parameter issues will save on your stress level in the long run. I run ro water for over a year and do have algae issues on the one side of my tank, so it is doable to use these and be successful, but the price difference is just about the same as making your own ro/di water or buying RO from walmart.