Filtration for 10 Gal Nano?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DaveMc

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Evening everyone,

I am a major newbie to saltwater aquariums and looking for advice. Over the years I have had great success in freshwater but the beauty of saltwater aquariums has drawn me in. I am in the process of starting off with a 10 gal nano to try my hand at saltwater aquariums.

Over the past couple weeks I have been slowly getting things I need for the aquarium itself, but have run across a "I'm not sure" moment. I am trying to figure out the best way to filter the tank. I have heard HOB filters are not great for saltwater aquariums but not sure what to use instead for this nano setup. If I do use a HOB type what type of medium should I use in it?

If anyone can offer any advise I would greatly appreciate it. I am going to be heading to the store tomorrow to pick up a few other things and was wanting to get help with this question before I go.

Much thanks for any help or advice,
David

If it were me i would get an aqualcear hang on filter. Big enough to run whatever chemical media you would like. I would run floss on the top, like the blue /white fluggy pad stuff, some purigen and chemipure ( or chemipure elite if you are going with corals) and call it good. The purigen and chemipure dont need to be replaced very often, it says 6 months but i usually went with 4 months or so and then replaced it. Very simple maintenance, just change the filter floss pad every few days and rinse the bags of media I suggested in old tank water to get rid of debris and you'll be set. :)

Hob filters are fine to run some chemical filtration, I use aqua clears on 3 different nano systems. As for media purigen or chemi pure elite work well