Fluval edge 46l marine

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Abno10

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi,I was always interested in marine tanks,so i decided to get one.
I bought the fluval edge 46l,12kg of live rock,2 bags of crushed coral sand,a hydro koralia wavemaker,I got a new heater also.
Firstly I would like to get a new lighting system as I would like to keep corals.
I would like info on how to know when the tank cycles.
Any info or tips would be very welcome as I am new to this.
P.s my tank has been set up for the last 2 weeks

Cycling- do you have a test kit? You test your ammonia. It will spike, then drop to 0. When it starts dropping start testing for nitrites. They will spike and then drop to 0. When your nitrites start to drop, test for nitrates. The cycle is over when ammonia is 0, nitrites are 0 and you have some nitrates. Then you do a big water change and get the nitrates 10 or less and you can then add stuff to the tank!

Lighting- I have a par38. (LOVE IT!) I will look back in my thread to see how many watts it is and what my color temp for the white lights are. I have a candy cane coral and some zoas so far and they are doing great!

Yea I have a test kit,have you a fluval edge!!!i will have a look at your thread,sorry if I annoy anyone with stupid questions but I am new to this"/

Oh- I forgot to mention. You need a source ammonia. The easiest thing to do is go to the supermarket and buy a fresh shrimp. Put it in a piece of pantyhose and then drop it in the tank. It will rot and give the bacteria an ammonia source to feed and grow off of. When your ammonia spikes to at least 4ppm you can take it out if you want.

Abno10 said:
Yea I have a test kit,have you a fluval edge!!!i will have a look at your thread,sorry if I annoy anyone with stupid questions but I am new to this"/