Fluval Edge Questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jenatron

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hello all:

I have a Fluval Edge, I initially planned to go freshwater as I've never done saltwater before (I know, booo, ewww!), but I'm pretty sure now that I'm going to make it a reef.

Before it's said: I know my first reef should be larger, but it's just not an option right now. I'm willing to do everything in my power that is necessary to keep it stable. Back to it then..

If you're not familiar with the Fluval Edge, it's a 6 gallon. It looka like dis..
img_1232825_0_69707ee71565f01f9917b59919554521.jpg

Under the hood in the center is a small opening. Measuring by thumb, lol, it's approximately 6" by 4". The black brace-type thing behind the tank is empty and hollow. An AquaClear 20 (or 30? I'm unsure, lolzies) sits in that area. A lighting bar also comes out to hang over the opening. It came stocked with 2 halogens, which pretty much everyone replaces with MR11 Led bulbs, as I did.

Pictures of the inside/canopy:
Lighting bar down:
img_1232825_1_096f1a8c888e20b26eb2bebf6259d186.jpg

Front view of lighting bar down:
img_1232825_2_b5b09bdddbc72303832f22456daeb6b0.jpg

Lighting bar partially up:
img_1232825_3_40cf3b4332f3767a1bd74ac678d337fc.jpg

Lighting bar all the way up:
img_1232825_4_32885d344cbcd85363e4bd57db28c1bf.jpg

Inside of canopy/hood:
img_1232825_5_686623b532f8b23e2c681a013e76fda1.jpg

Things I know I'm doing:
-Hydor 15w mini heater (intended for under gravel use) housed in the filter.
-Spray painting the grill (probably black), not only for aesthetic purposes, but reports of salt rusting it.
-Some sort of moonlight, still weighing my options. Right now I'm considering this.
-Replacing my big ugly mag float with a Two Little Fishies Nano Mag.
-Fixing some sort of mesh over the filter intake.