How much current can little corals take?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

laniloo

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm curious about how sturdy coral is, when it comes to current. I realize that the ocean has some pretty hefty currents and that doesn't seem to hurt the coral, but in a tank - if it's constantly being hit by the same stream of current, does that do any long term damage? Do they prefer to be less agitated?

Ok I am still new at this and still a Coral virgin myself but I thought I might take a stab at the question with my thoughts on the subject

All corals have different requierments as far as what flow they like. You may just have to do some research. They need the water flow to get the beneficial nutrients from the elements in the salt water. Your goal is to create a random chaotic current so that the current is not just flowing one direction leaving stagnant areas(little flow little nutrients)Too much flow may cause it to close up as a defense depending on the coral. This is usually done by pointing a powerhead at the glass or at a rock or by pointing 2 powerheads together. In such a small tank the flow should bounce off of the walls pretty good with even 1 small powerhead.

I am very interested about your setup do you think maybe we could see a photo to get a better mental picture??

Yep - that's definitely on my list of to-do's. I know it's hard to give advice without seeing the setup.

Thank you for your comments though - I'll do some more research on the particular coral that is in my tank, and I'll try putting it somewhere where it's not getting blasted by the current (on one side).