I would like to attempt a small coral reef tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MyCatsDrool

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I have a lovely 6.6 gallon/25 litre acrylic aquarium that I would like to attempt a small reef in. I have never done saltwater before, but have kept freshwater fish and plants for some time.

I have been reading about this quite a bit, and believe I want to do biological only filtration with a deep sand bed and live rock. At this time, I do not plan to keep any fish, only soft corals and invertabrates.
While I recognise this is the more difficult path for introduction into saltwater tanks, please do not discourage me. This is what I desire. I do not want a large saltwater tank or saltwater fish, and believe a coral only large tank without fish would be something of a shame. Also, cost prohibits me from purchasing the equipment needed for a larger aquarium.

I plan to add 15 pounds of cured figi live rock, as well as a mixture of dead aragonite, live sand and some crushed coral. My water tends to be soft and acidic, which is why I plan to add the coral. I am planning for a 4 inch sand bed.
I also plan to cycle the tank with only the live rock and sand, and whatever creatures may come on the rock.
My questions include how many watts of lighting per gallon are needed to raise corals? Also, how does cycling a saltwater tank differ from a freshwater tank? Lastly, other than using cured rock as opposed to uncured rock, how can I avoid aispista and bubble algae from the start?

I appreciate any help in advance!

Hey, MyCatsDrool. Sounds like you've done alot of research, that's great.