Nano cube or bio cube???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

theyoungaquariest

Aquarium Advice Freak
Im new to aquarium advcie so here it goes- Im in the process of deciding whether to buy a twelve gallon nano ccube or an eight (maybe 14) gallon bio cube. I had a thirty gallon tank that unfortunately cracked during a move. :( Im ready to start a nano reef but im still on sure on what to get. What are your thoughts?....Experiences? Good....bad?:rolleyes:

I have the 14 biocube...the only drawback so far is that I couldn't find a retrofit lid for it with metal halide or T5 lighting...the nanocube has an alternative lid w/metal halide available for about $300.
I love the fact that is all inclusive, and I have actually started some of the modifications that other members are doing (live rock rubble instead of the bioballs, and I used a fluval filter sponge instead of the carbon floss, I also placed an additional sponge behind the bottom intake grate (had to break a grate in the first chamber above it to reach it) in order to keep inverts from getting sucked in)
I put my heater in the first intake chamber, and a koralia power head on the intake grate side so that my ph flow can conflict the output flow near the surface for more oxygen exchange, and a great combo of current.

Good luck!

Thanks sogreene! Do you have a picture maybe? I just wanted to see how the sponge and the intake grate work. Thanks!!! If not its ok. Thank you!

I am still not sure about which might be better, I have gone onto various forums and I still get a 50/50 response anyone else wanna put in their two cents???