New nano tank...lights?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lpn4

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi there. I am setting up a nano tank this week. The tank is cycled, and I currently have a brackish salinity...am working up the salt level. I currently have 2 25w incandescent bulbs. I do not have any fish or reef in the tank. my plan is to put a goby in here, along with some reef. Can someone tell me what kind of lighting I need?

My tank is 10g. I am very new to this, and am just researching for now. I do not to jump into anything. I want to maybe grow sea anemones, and any kind of coral/reef that I can find at my lfs. Can't I grow reef from live rock? I hope these questions don't sound too stupid, like I said, I'm very new to it.

Okay thanks. I have since learned that polyps need low light, but I thought an anemone was a polyp? Also, I worry that my water flow will be too low, but mushroom coral do not require high flow.

Thanks for the tips. Looks like I might do well with a small polyp and mushroom coral. Still wondering about lighting though.

You could also go with a 70 watt mh from fishneedit. A 10 gallon is very small for an anemone but you can get hairy mushrooms or a frogspawn that looks a lot like one both are low light. 70W Metal Halide Pendant Lights they are on sale now as well.

The best lighting and cheapest lighting is Hydroponics Grow Lights- Blue and White LEDs. Anywhere from $30-100.

Okay. Looks like I have quite a few options here. A good light for my tank is my Christmas gift...hehehe...so I want to make a good decision..and not burn up my little tank. Also, what does anyone know about actinic lighting? Is it necessary? I want the best brightest color from my reef, not solely a brownis-yellow color.

Actinics are needed for your coral growth. :)