Newb to Nanos

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gurnie

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Morning,
I am a newb to nanos, well at least the saltwater kind. I'm looking for loads of info, preferably in book form. Not sure what size I will go for yet (in terms of the size of the tank) but I qill base that decision based on the information I read.

a bit of info:

I have kept freshwater fish on and off during my life, and have enjoyed them very much. I currently have a female betta in a 3 gallon macaquarium that i built (along with 7 ghost shrimp), and a male betta in a 5 gallon minibow with a ramshorn snail. Both have heated tanks.

At work I have 3 zebra danos in an office tank.

So as you can see i have plenty of freshwater tanks. I was a user of fishforums.net but I've come to the opinion that they are nazi fish keepers and have disagreed with some of my fish keeping practices (despite having excellent water quality and happy, growing fish). This looked like a friendly forum to use, and I hope it is.

I agree with Scott. If you are looking at a nano specifically (I assume you are from posting in the nano forums) I would reccomend atleast a 10 or 20 gallon tank. Something smaller is definitley doable, but a larger water volume leaves more room for error, which is very important in a SW tank.

If you are looking for good books to get you started, try The New Marine Aquarium by Michael Paletta or The Concientious Marine Aquarist by Robert Fenner. Both good books. Paletta's is a lot cheaper. hehe.

Welcome to AA!

Great info, thanky-uo for the warm welcoming and being so speedy with answering questions. Thanks for also not being fish wackos :wink:

now some questions, and lets base the answers on a 10-20 gallon nano reef