Newbie 10 gal Nano Questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

aquamami8326

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hey, so I have a ten gallon tank currently set up and cycled with freshwater (no fish). I am REAALLY interested in starting a nano tank. But the thing is I am totally new to saltwater tanks and have lots of questions so here goes :)
1. Would I have to have live rock/coral and stuff? Or would it be possible to keep a healthy saltwater nano tank with regular rocks and some fake decorations?
2. Would a regular 10 gallon filter be enough? I'm sure I'd have to upgrade, I just want to make sure. The filter I have came with the ten gallon starter kit I got for christmas.
3. Stocking ideas and options! I want a colorful active tank, stocked with fish and such that aren't ridiculously hard to find.
4. Any equiptment that I would need for the tank, setting it up and keeping my fish happy and healthy.

Right now I have the ten gallon tank, ten gallon filter that came with it, a 25 watt heater, and a 10 gallon air pump and bubble wall.

You have most of what you'll need. :) You wont need the air pump at all btw. You'd also need either a swing arm hydrometer or a refractometer to test the salinity of the water, extremely important.

As far as fish you could get a couple, like 3 max nano fish. Check out this link

Nano Fish

The site has the tank requirements and difficulty level as well.

I didn't think I'd need the pump or bubble wall, just thought I'd throw it in there :) and I knew about needing a refractometer, just forgot to say anything about it. Thanks for your help!! :)

So would I be able to stock 1 black and white ocellaris clown with another 2 gobies? Or is a clown out of the question, even if it is the ocellaris? If so, with only gobies in the tank, would I still be limited to 3?