SW Noobie... looking for ideas and suggestions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JDogg

Aquarium Advice Addict
ok i have been keeping freshwater tanks for a while, though i do not consider myself an "expert" i have had decent success (knock on wood).

i find myself with an empty 10 gal, i have been asking for suggestions in the freshwater section and have got some interesting ones. this morning however my wife suggested trying instead to do a small SW setup in this tank...

i have never tried SW before, but have always said some day i would like to try...

the tank in my classroom at school, so "school friendly" inhabitants are a must.
it is a 10 gal, i have a heater (of course) a hob filter and a 15 watt t-8 fluorescent hood. i would of cource take out the gravel and replace it with a crush coral or similar carbonate substrate...
what other equipment would i need? (i have read a little on sw but still do not completely know what i need) for this small tank i assume my HOB would act as a refuge of sorts (is this correct) would i also need a skimmer?

as far as stocking i would like some LR (of cource) just 2-3 fish and maybe some cool inverts i.e. snails, shrimp... suggestions are greatly encouraged :)

i am by no means rich, but i see the benefits of a small SW tank in the classroom so i want to do it right the first time. (i already have a 20 long african clawed frog tank and a 45 gal african cichlid tank in the room)

thanks in advance
JDogg