swimming gobies?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

twoodrough

Aquarium Advice Freak
I am researching for a 10 gallon fowlr. I have kids so will start with a clown, of course. I would like a second fish, but I like ones that actually swim, not sit or perch. What could move around in the 10 gallon with the clown? Also, I need easy to find cost effective fish since I am just starting out. Thanks!

Cardinalfish. I love the colors but some people don't like them because they just float. I don't think so but that my opinion

I like idreaminsaltwater's suggestion. In the same vein, I believe a dartfish would work. The same rule applies about a top, because they are known to jump too.

Firefish gobies just kinda hang out in one spot. Look at the rainford goby too. There's the scissortail goby, but they work better in groups IMO.

Anyway you could d a 20g instead? A 10g is gonna be harder IMO, and maybe only room for one fish.

The 10 gal is my "starter" tank because I already have it. Have agreed with significant other to not buy any new equiment until I have tried this out, espcially given the costs.

I know two fish in a 10 is pushing it, but not terrible. I will maintain it. I prefer fish that actaully swim, and gobies seem to be sitters.

I like the rainfords and will be checking LFS for them. I really, really, like the scissortail, but in researching they seem a bit big for a 10.

What about chromis with a clown? Royal grammas? Any little swimmers ideas will be appreciated.

Are dartfish and gobies the same? I googled dartfish and goby fish came up.

Thanks!

We have a few green chromis in our new tank. They are always active and actually act like a litter of puppies whenever we get close to the tank. Very fun to watch! :)