75 gal filtration Q's?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MrWrasse

Aquarium Advice Regular
Greetings,

I have been scouring the web and reading the info that has already been posted. I'm currently planning a 75 gallon reef tank and need a few things clarified. I'm brand new to saltwater aquariums, but have had some experience with freshwater setups. I have talked to many people at the LFS, and even called the SmithFoster info line. My questions right now are revolving around the filtration system. So far I have only purchased a 75 gal tank and stand. I am planing the use of Tahitian moon sand. I also will be using 100 lbs of uncured LR. The help line at Drs SmithFoster said to use a W/D filter. The LFS has said Canister and Fluidized bed filter. I do plan to have some hermits and snails. I have read in this thread that with LR/LS and Detritus eating inverts, that mechanical and biologial is not nessecary. If this is true do I still need chemical filtration. Seem to be a bit confusing. I'm not so concerned about the cost, because I will just wait till I have enough saved to do this right the first time. Any options would be greatly appreciated.

Welcome to AquariumAdvice.com :)

I have split your post from the other thread to give you more specific answers about your set up.

SRepking said:
I have read in this thread that with LR/LS and Detritus eating inverts, that mechanical and biologial is not nessecary