90-125 gal set up. Several questions from a confused rookie

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

twestrope

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am new to SW and have been reading as much as I can and have several books. I may be getting into information overload from reading various opinions about what is needed.

I want to do a 90-125 gal FOWLR. I am thinking of getting acrylic (Tenecor) rather than glass. I realize acrylic costs more and scratches easier. I worry about leaks and the weight in terms of setting up) associated with glass. If I am careful when cleaning the sides is this a big mistake?

I plan to do a 3-4" deep sand bed and LR (1-1.5 lbs per gal). To save $ I would probably do a 50-50 split or something similar between LR and base rock.

I am confused as to the approach for a filter. HOB vs cannister vs wet dry. Opinions please with any specific suggestions. Pros and cons associated with adding a sump (I know it hides some of the equipment and helps stabilize the water). I want to keep this as simple as I can.

I am assuming I need several power heads. I heard 10-20x turnover. Do people get one for that or several smaller units that add up to what you need?

I am assuming I need a protein skimmer. Any thoughts on specifics?

Do most people invest in a RO/DI unit? I live in Denver if that matters. Does a RO unit have to be installed by a plumber or can you just connect it to a faucet when you need it?

Besides lighting issues, heater, testing kits, etc. are there other primary items I need to consider? Is there anything I have listed that verges on overkill? I think I will go get either The New Marine Aquarium or The Conscientious Marine Aquarist to supplement my confusion. Thanks for your help.

im confused also that you want a FOWLR but you need to approach a filter.