a new begining...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

oyf709

Aquarium Advice FINatic
It is nothing really special,just want to share my feeling with others so that i can feel more secure about my new start and will be great to take advice on wat i have done wrong...
sotry begin...

5 months ago, I got my purple tang and as the biggest size fish i ever introduce into my tank , i was a bit rush to dump it into my tank cuz my QT was not big enough for the purple tang. As the worst can happen, it braught ich into my system. I did all I can do to minimize the damage, medication , QT and also water change, this is my first time ever to get some major ich out break, therefore i think i was a bit in panic mode.
May be I stressed my fish too much, ich gets worse, my 2 lovely percula (pairs),which my wife love them so much that she call them her baby,shrink their size in 1 week and start to get beat up by other fish cuz they were too weak. So i moved them to my refugium and 3 days later they died at the same time( I was watching, quite touching , as a pair they leave this world togetherr*sob*). The ich killed other 2 fish in a week,then things start to settle down and my purple tang got better fast.
Then in that week, my return pump failed and water short circuit my lighting system,I lost 3 metal halide which i can't replace them in a short time.Things start to get worse, cuz the limited light i produce, hair algea start to take over the world. I had a really cheap R/O cuz some document online said tap water got some minerals that coral like, and full R/O was not needed. Algea killed almost all my coral. I used to had a LR that is about 60cm long full of paulsing Xenia which grow from a little frag about 1 inch and the algea whiped it out. Same as my hard coral, everything died except part of my arco still alive.