Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-31-2017, 01:12 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
cgthebeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: In a house
Posts: 3,085
Algae help

So I have a 75g, and I can never get rid of my algae completely. And now I have a blossoming of ditaoms on my sand and cynical in my sump.
I want to completely redo my refugeium, adding mangroves and just someway better to extract nutrients.

My parms are fine, everything is in order. I'll post exact stats when I get home from work. My corals are thriving and growing, I use ro/di water and recently dropped 250$ on a new 5 stages unit from bulk reef supply and I still have these issues. I've tested for phosphates and I still have nothing showing on that.

But I really just want clean sand, I have hundreds of snails but like 1 hermit crab. (He's an unknown species that has done very well, I want to invest to more blue legs but he's killed them all, very aggressive but reef safe white hermit crab with big sorta fuzzy claws and completely blue eye stalk/ feelers, he's going in the revamped sump)

Also every time I had top off water, my skimmer goes nuts, do I have it set to high? I do 12% water changes every week in the dot

It's a 75g, with a 20g sump, it's been set up for two years so I know something is up with my water, but I'm stumped.
__________________

__________________
36 gallon fresh water

10g saltwater
cgthebeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2017, 10:27 PM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 19,979
It's been awhile since we've talked about what is going on in your system, but are you using ro/di water?
Skip mangroves, they are terrible ways of exporting nutrients due to how slow they grow.
Have you considered an ATS? I had such great success with the one I DIY'd, I spent way to much money for one on the red sea build.
As for the parameters, they aren't fine if there is algae. It is just being consumed by the algae growth, giving you a false reading. I've actually stopped worrying about what people think the nutrient levels are in their systems for nitrates simply due to never having a fair reading on the issue.
__________________

Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2017, 10:38 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
cgthebeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: In a house
Posts: 3,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
It's been awhile since we've talked about what is going on in your system, but are you using ro/di water?
Skip mangroves, they are terrible ways of exporting nutrients due to how slow they grow.
Have you considered an ATS? I had such great success with the one I DIY'd, I spent way to much money for one on the red sea build.
As for the parameters, they aren't fine if there is algae. It is just being consumed by the algae growth, giving you a false reading. I've actually stopped worrying about what people think the nutrient levels are in their systems for nitrates simply due to never having a fair reading on the issue.


Yup, I even brought a brand new unit in may from brs, a five stage one with a resin. I cycled it through and ran water through it like the instructions said on how to break it in. This water didn't go in the tank.

I've actually just finished buliding my ATS, the king of diy version. I just needed a longer tube for the plumbing which I ordered so I should get that this upcoming week

Okay so skip the maggroves. Will do. I think the main issue I'm having is that sump is not really exporting nutratiants officially. I have very very low flow their and the cyanogen has bloomed everywhere, so I'm pulling out an old power head from my nano and order cheato early today off eBay, got a large poration for a good deal.

As for the nutrients, that's a good way to look at it.
During my water change this weekend, I'm gonna vacuum the top of the sand bed very carefully to remove any detritus, I can run the water back through a filter sock I have clamped in my sump. I'm hoping the only cause of this bloom was that I recently got a new tang and instead of keeping my normal feeding habits, I fed the tank extra in order to get it to eat.
__________________
36 gallon fresh water

10g saltwater
cgthebeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 01:02 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
cgthebeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: In a house
Posts: 3,085
I don't run a phosphate reactor, is it worth it to look into buying one?
__________________
36 gallon fresh water

10g saltwater
cgthebeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 04:19 PM   #5
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 19,979
Possibly, but when it comes to nutrients in the water column it is a 10:1 ratio for nitrate:phosphate. If a matured ATS along with several water changes to get all the old water out of the system replaced with the water you are making with 0 TDS doesn't change things, it can be looked at then.
Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2017, 06:20 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
cgthebeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: In a house
Posts: 3,085
Alright sounds good. I'm preparing a 20g water change this weekend and I have been blasting my sand with a turkey vaster in order to stir up anything that might be causing it, I also bumped up my skimmer In order to catch any solids. Hopefully this will help me solve it
__________________

__________________
36 gallon fresh water

10g saltwater
cgthebeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Algae, algae, algae. What kind is this? Meredith Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 9 02-06-2006 02:38 PM
Algae, algae, algae!!!! Please Help! Joshsmit56001 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 06-17-2004 07:23 PM
algae, algae, algae Heavyhootz Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 02-05-2004 05:16 PM
Algae Algae Algae in my planted tank d9hp Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 13 05-17-2003 02:52 PM
Algae, Algae, Algae!!!! Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 16 01-14-2003 02:12 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.