Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-31-2014, 05:29 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 38
Algae problem and ecotech l.e.d. Lights?

Having a lot of algae breakouts wondering what everyone's settings are??


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
svegas82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2014, 05:56 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dcutl002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Smithfield, Va.
Posts: 1,355
Quote:
Originally Posted by svegas82 View Post
Having a lot of algae breakouts wondering what everyone's settings are??


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
You will need to get Light, Ferts, and CO2 in balance. If they are out of balance, you will get algae...big time. You may want to start adding Seachem Flourish Excel as prescribed on the label on a daily basis to get algae under control. If the algae proceeds to take over, you can increase your dosage up to 1ml per gallon per day. If you have invertebrates you may want to use caution.
__________________

dcutl002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2014, 05:58 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,197
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcutl002 View Post
You will need to get Light, Ferts, and CO2 in balance. If they are out of balance, you will get algae...big time. You may want to start adding Seachem Flourish Excel as prescribed on the label on a daily basis to get algae under control. If the algae proceeds to take over, you can increase your dosage up to 1ml per gallon per day. If you have invertebrates you may want to use caution.
Think this is sw I had to Google this led.. i know all planted leds haha

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2014, 06:07 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 38
I was thinking my lights were to intense I reduced it...I'm cleaning the glass everyday


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
svegas82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2014, 06:30 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bribo12's Avatar

Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 9,371
You may have a nutrient problem over a lighting one. Also how long are you running the lights? Is it a new setup? What are your parameters? Skimmer? GFO?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
20 Gallon SPS reef
29 Gallon FW "fat catfish" tank
20 Gallon Long Dart Frogs "Zig" and "Zag"
bribo12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2014, 08:57 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 38
They are a little new I'm running a skimmer my nitrates are a little high I'm not currently running a gfo and the lights are running for about 10 hrs total a day


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
svegas82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2015, 11:56 AM   #7
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 19,982
An increase in light can help in fueling algae growth when you already have parameter issues, but this isn't the root of the problem. Cutting the lighting back can help, even cutting the red out of the spectrum could as well, but it is the nitrates and phosphates that are the root cause.
There are two articles in my signature that can help you with your battle, but you will want to use ro/di water in your top offs and water changes, minimize feeding, effectively skimming, so on.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 07:26 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
An increase in light can help in fueling algae growth when you already have parameter issues, but this isn't the root of the problem. Cutting the lighting back can help, even cutting the red out of the spectrum could as well, but it is the nitrates and phosphates that are the root cause.
There are two articles in my signature that can help you with your battle, but you will want to use ro/di water in your top offs and water changes, minimize feeding, effectively skimming, so on.

You right they are the only two that are high I've started doing weekly water changes(ro/di) hasn't moved much. I tried to click on your signature wouldn't let me


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
svegas82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 08:29 PM   #9
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 19,982
Algae control in salt water tanks - Aquarium Advice

Another View on Algae Control - Helpful Tips - Aquarium Advice

Keep in mind that battles with algae are long ones. For example, if your nitrates are at 40, a 50% water change will only bring them down to 20! This is why it is important to ensure that the water you are doing the water changes with is 0, why we advocate using ro/di as there isn't anything in it at all that could be harmful or cause issues. Tie that in with feeding sparingly you can overcome the issue with time.
Also keep in mind that some algae isn't bad. There is algae in my reef tank. This comes from my use of distilled water, but there are some things that we can't avoid sometimes in life.
Just out of curiosity, what are you running your radions at? I run mine at 60% intensity.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 09:04 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
Algae control in salt water tanks - Aquarium Advice

Another View on Algae Control - Helpful Tips - Aquarium Advice

Keep in mind that battles with algae are long ones. For example, if your nitrates are at 40, a 50% water change will only bring them down to 20! This is why it is important to ensure that the water you are doing the water changes with is 0, why we advocate using ro/di as there isn't anything in it at all that could be harmful or cause issues. Tie that in with feeding sparingly you can overcome the issue with time.
Also keep in mind that some algae isn't bad. There is algae in my reef tank. This comes from my use of distilled water, but there are some things that we can't avoid sometimes in life.
Just out of curiosity, what are you running your radions at? I run mine at 60% intensity.

I just lowered them down to 35%


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
svegas82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2015, 09:45 PM   #11
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 19,982
Why so low?
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 12:56 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 38
I was acclimating my coral it burnt a coup,e up the first couple days


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
svegas82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2015, 01:10 PM   #13
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 19,982
That is something easily done, but that is pretty low. With mine set at 60%, even when I use acclimation mode it doesn't go under 50%.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 10:16 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
dpruter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 105
I'm having similar issues with radions but my nitrates are close to 0. How many hours a day are you running 60% and what color temp? And how deep is your tank? I'm at about 45% for 10+ hours a day, my tank is 30" deep, lights hang 10" above and color temp goes between 12k and 19k. Frustrating that some say no more than 25% and some say no less than 60% intensity. Time for a led par meter perhaps? Appreciate it!


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
dpruter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 10:25 PM   #15
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 19,982
If there is algae then your nitrates are not 0. These are strong lights. The stronger the light source the easier it is for algae to grow. That is why some people even use T5HO to grow their refugium!
Radions come with a default lens that ends up cutting through the water and would do great on deep tanks. Their wide angle lenses help with that and disperse the intensity out. This is something I will be doing to my Radions this month.
One thing that can be done to cut back on algae growth that helps is by cutting the red out of the spectrum. It will still grow, but I have noted some improvement after doing so.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 10:49 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
dpruter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 105
Will look at the reds. Thanks for the tip! What color temp you using primarily?

I'm wondering if an algae scrubber in sump would help cut down the growth in the display?

And it's been a year since I changed the RO filter membrane. Perhaps a factor. Silicates getting in?

Ahhh, the joys of an aquarium.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
dpruter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 12:28 AM   #17
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 19,982
An ATS will help, but the algae wouldn't be caused by silicates. It would be nitrates and phosphates.
And in terms of my color temp that really depends on the time of day. I've made it vary, but it is modelled after Jonathan's graph, which was made by an Ecotech employee. I've just cut the intensity down to 60% and cut out the red completely.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ecotech, led, light, lights

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ecotech Radion Gen 1 fading on and off Sniperhank General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 10-28-2013 04:52 PM
Ecotech radion xr30w and mp10 Jonty General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 12-28-2011 05:51 PM
Ecotech XR30w LED lights available for pre order now. Affordable Aquatic Vendor Spotlight (Deals, Announcements & More) 2 09-12-2011 09:19 PM
'''Lights Lights Lights''' weeztankx General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 19 09-06-2009 12:10 AM
lights lights lights NJDevilsWinCup Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 04-25-2004 05:32 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.