Alkalinity

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Doddy

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all, I started using Red Sea pro alkalinity test kit, I presume when using it you take total volume of test liquid used to give you the alkalinity reading from the chart provided ? Bit confusing! It is showing a reading of 7.0 dkh which I hope is ok for my reef tank!

Yes, that's right. You look at how much of the liquid in the syringe you used right when the solution turns color, then compare that volume to the chart to see what the corresponding dKH is. Definitely not the easiest test to use, but supposedly one of the more accurate ones out there for the price range.

Thank you ants86, I am adding a buffer fluval sea alkalinity once weekly

Alkalinity was low so was advised to use it by the shop I use,I'm not good at chemistry
I have an aqua one 300 tank, started set up July' 13

Rule #1 about things like this, don't chase numbers if it isn't causing problems. Dosing usually adds to issues or masks what is truly going on. Water changes should keep things equalized in normal situations...it takes an extremely SPS heavy tank to cause drops to require dosing.

7 is what the ocean is. That's where I keep mine. If it works for the natural reefs it works for me

Alkalinity and Calcium are in a circus and they have a good team work. They entertain us with something what we call a "balancing act". If one of them goes down the other goes up. In other words if you raise your alk you will expect your calc to go down and vise versa. That's why they advise you not to chase it but rather just compromise which level you prefer them to be balanced.