bad algea blues. (pic)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RocketSeason

Aquarium Advice Addict
I have been singing this same sad tune for months.

what is it, and how do I get rid of it for good???

Attachments

• bad_algea_blues.jpg
    bad_algea_blues.jpg
    38.6 KB · Views: 149
Is that growing right on the sand? Can you remove that patch manually? I'm going to watch this thread to learn a bit. I don't have the problem right now, but I can imagine that it may be lurking out there in my future.

Good luck!

oh its a pain in the rear-end. Its mostly on the sand, but there is a good patch of it on the rocks.

I could probibly remove it manually, but I am afraid it will just spread it. I just added chemi-clean a few days ago, but it doesn't seem to affect that stuff.

I think I'd use a big gravel vac suction of the sand chunks. I'm no expert, but yur list has canister filter .. are you using bio media in there? ARe you using RO/DI water?

Most of the solutions I read involve:

1)adding macroalgae to fuge to compete for nutrients
2) remove bio media to reduce nitrates
3) use of RO/DI and/or phophate removal agents
4)cutting back feeding
5)cutting back photoperiod

I'm using ro/di water, there is no media in the canister. I have cut back on feeding and cut down on the "lights on" time.

none of it has had an effect. :roll:

RocketSeason said:
I'm using ro/di water
What is the TDS of your RO/DI and what's the water specs/chemistry?

Is the algae actually brown or is that just the way the pic turned out?

Cheers
Steve

RocketSeason said:
I'm using ro/di water, there is no media in the canister. I have cut back on feeding and cut down on the "lights on" time.

none of it has had an effect. :roll: