Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-29-2014, 09:51 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 765
Basement sumps

Anyone on here have basement sumps? Can you all post a pic of your setups? I want to move all my stuff to the basement and I want some ideas. I'm thinking I'm going to use a 100-200 gallon Rubbermaid trough . But want ideas on setting up the plumbing. Fuge and all that good stuff
__________________

__________________
JJ-MIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 10:06 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,409
Basement sumps

My reef on the main floor (roughly 300 gallons) empties into the basement to its own room where there is about 200 more gallons in frag tanks, algae scrubber and sumps. A big Iwaki pump then lifts the processed water back upstairs to the main reef. Same setup has run about 21 years now.

Picture of the outside corner reef is on the main floor, subsequent pictures are from the basement fish room. I use rubber maid tubs and Brute trash cans as sumps and frag tanks. I also have a 6' long glass frag tank with a moving led light in the basement on the same system.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1391050640.211377.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	241.5 KB
ID:	219628   Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1391050702.206026.jpg
Views:	138
Size:	182.8 KB
ID:	219630  

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1391050823.728593.jpg
Views:	131
Size:	167.5 KB
ID:	219633   Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1391050890.940431.jpg
Views:	131
Size:	182.8 KB
ID:	219634  

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1391050911.144375.jpg
Views:	127
Size:	181.8 KB
ID:	219635  
__________________

__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 10:13 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 765
That's awesome looking! Thank you! That's another thing I'm researching. A huge algae scrubber. Do you have any issues heating the water since it is in the basement?
__________________
JJ-MIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 11:03 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,409
No, I use a 1000 watt titanium heater and have a chiller for summer time.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 08:37 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Holygral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Conneaut, Ohio
Posts: 786
my sump isn't in the basement but my return pump and rodi with pump for the ato are all there. I also have it plumbed so I can drain for wc to a drain in the basement and I can pump rodi for wc up, no water caring either way.
__________________
Holygral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 08:47 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 765
How do you get the proper salinity if your just dumping it in a drain. How do you know how much water your taking out?
__________________
JJ-MIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 09:03 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Holygral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Conneaut, Ohio
Posts: 786
I mix my wc water in a tub, my tank is 72x18 and I draw enough water out so it is 5 inches from normal then you multiply 72x18x5=6480 divide 312 (cubic inches in a gal) and that equals 20 gallons, same formula if I draiing from the sump
__________________
Holygral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 09:17 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 765
That's a lot if math!!..... Ha .. I just use 5 gallon buckets. But I suppose if you just watch how much water comes out you can figure how much it is to our right back in.
__________________
JJ-MIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 09:25 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Holygral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Conneaut, Ohio
Posts: 786
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJ-MIK View Post
That's a lot if math!!..... Ha .. I just use 5 gallon buckets. But I suppose if you just watch how much water comes out you can figure how much it is to our right back in.
when you start a dry board marker is a great help
__________________
Holygral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 09:30 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Themonsterisme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sarasota Florida
Posts: 206
H
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregcoyote View Post
My reef on the main floor (roughly 300 gallons) empties into the basement to its own room where there is about 200 more gallons in frag tanks, algae scrubber and sumps. A big Iwaki pump then lifts the processed water back upstairs to the main reef. Same setup has run about 21 years now.

Picture of the outside corner reef is on the main floor, subsequent pictures are from the basement fish room. I use rubber maid tubs and Brute trash cans as sumps and frag tanks. I also have a 6' long glass frag tank with a moving led light in the basement on the same system.
holy heck Greg ... You can tell it's been running a long time by all the salt on the side of the frag tank lol
__________________
Themonsterisme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 09:32 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 765
That's a good idea!
__________________
JJ-MIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 12:28 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,409
Quote:
Originally Posted by Themonsterisme View Post
H


holy heck Greg ... You can tell it's been running a long time by all the salt on the side of the frag tank lol

That's the big algae scrubber. I use a neat digital water meter to know how much water I exchange.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 01:25 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
My sump isn't in the basement, but regarding water changes, I pump out almost my entire sump and then fill it back up to the fill line, where the ATO switch is. No calculating at all.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 01:28 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 765
Do you have excess premixed salt. Or do you mix just enough?
__________________
JJ-MIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 03:26 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I make a 55 gallon drum full, let it mix overnight, then do the change. I usually end up with about 6" in the bottom.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 03:41 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,409
I use one of these. They are deluxe.

http://flows.com/digital-water-meter...FZRr7AodVgkAug
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2014, 10:55 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 765
What are some pumps I can consider? If we get this house that we are looking at buying. The basement is tall I'm going to be looking at probably 20 feet to be pushing water up to the tank. What are some pumps I can consider? My tank has 2 overflows . It's a 150g
__________________
JJ-MIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2014, 11:01 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,409
Basement sumps

It will be a bit expensive running a pump like this, but I would check the Internet for your favorite pump specs, there it spells out maximum head height and flow rates. If you want a 4X flow rate on a 150 gallon, that's 600 gallons per hour at 20'

I use Iwaki pumps and they have run for years.

Cut down the lift height by placing the sump on a stand. That gives you many options for running an additional sump and frag tanks as a secondary loop in the basement.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2014, 11:04 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 765
I'm leaning into a sps dominated tank. So the more flow the better
__________________
JJ-MIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2014, 11:06 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 765
Ya. It will be on a bench type. Probably going to use a 100-200 gallon rubbermaid trough . And wanted to have a fuge tank and frag tanks looped in the system
__________________

__________________
JJ-MIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
base, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ugly Basement Skimmer Bang Guy DIY Projects 2 10-11-2006 06:18 AM
Sumps sumps and more sumps sango General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 14 02-02-2006 02:01 AM
Basement Sump Design sevise Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 11-12-2004 06:40 PM
Huge new basement tank!?!?! sumphead Aquaria Off-Topic 14 04-07-2004 07:01 AM
RO/DI - pumping from basement -pump selection? cmor1701d Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 03-09-2003 08:29 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.