Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-20-2011, 10:53 PM   #1
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,270
before shelling out the cash, i just have one last questoin (sorry)

i will be getting a 29g biocube with aprox 40 pounds of live and or base rock
i actually have 2 questions
1. how do i start and test a cycle
2. i am getting the heater that carey reccomended in a seperate thread, anyway my question is, there will be no wires in the water right?

__________________
zacheyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 10:58 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: California
Posts: 751
If you get a 29 cube there will be wires in the water from the pump. Pretty sure for most heaters though the wire comes out the top, which shouldn't be submerged in most cases.

To start a cycle, I'd personally dose pure ammonia and add some live rock or just bottled bacteria from an LFS. when after dosing ammonia you get nitrates and all of your ammonia is converted (0 ppm) you are cycled. Use seachem or elos test kits to measure nitrates, nitrites, and ammonia.
__________________
Display tank - 24g nano w/ softies/montipora

I run electrical appliances underwater and enjoy injecting things with Kalk filled syringes.
Sarcothelia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 11:07 PM   #3
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,270
are wires in the water safe, i am new to saltwater and i have no idea what your second paragraph meant.
__________________
zacheyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 11:23 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
40galreef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 173
The wires are designed for water.

You will need to test the cycle with tests for ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate. When you test you water and ammonia, and nitrite are at 0, with a low nitrate reading you cycle is over. You can add chemicals to speed up the cycle.
__________________
40galreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 11:33 PM   #5
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,270
what is considered low for nitrite
__________________
zacheyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 11:35 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
40galreef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 173
At the end of my cycle 5 ppm
__________________
40galreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 11:37 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: California
Posts: 751
nitrites ought to be zero.
__________________
Display tank - 24g nano w/ softies/montipora

I run electrical appliances underwater and enjoy injecting things with Kalk filled syringes.
Sarcothelia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 09:52 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
40galreef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarcothelia
nitrites ought to be zero.
I thought you said nitrate. Sorry. Nitrites should be 0.
__________________
40galreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 09:56 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,966
here's alink for cycling a sw tank using the shrimp method, you can alos add pure ammonia instead of the shrimp.

Cycle your salt tank

The heater I used to keep in my last compartment to the right.

You should get a power head as well for the other side of the tank, and those wires are water safe to a point so you can submerge the actual power head. That power head shold go on the right side glass or the right side back wall, your choice.
__________________
180g- Mostly BIG fish and some coral. ~80g Nuvo- My coral tank with "happy fish"~ 90g- FOWLR Not the not happy type of fish~ 125g- Freshwater Malawi Cichlids ~10g- Nuvo- The refugees from the Ich of '18
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 10:37 AM   #10
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,270
what type of sand should i get
__________________
zacheyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 10:43 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,966
Whatever one you like. The "live" sand in a bag is just a gimmick in my opinion, but if you like the texture and color buy it. I used live sand only because I wanted the fiji pink stuff and it happened to be "live". if you go with live sand, dont rinse it but if you get the regular aragonite or anything else make sure you rinse it very very well. it will cut down on the cloudines you'll get.
__________________
180g- Mostly BIG fish and some coral. ~80g Nuvo- My coral tank with "happy fish"~ 90g- FOWLR Not the not happy type of fish~ 125g- Freshwater Malawi Cichlids ~10g- Nuvo- The refugees from the Ich of '18
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 10:51 AM   #12
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,270
how in the world do i rinse sand?
__________________
zacheyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 10:55 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,966
LOl. I used the pillow case method one time, just put it in an old pillowcase and rinse in the tub or outside with a garden hose.
I also last time used a bucket, pout some sand in, added water and just kept dumping the water until the water runs clear.

takes some time but with your size tank it shouldnt be that bad.

I had to rinse 250!!! lbs of sand, took me hours to do it too LOL
__________________
180g- Mostly BIG fish and some coral. ~80g Nuvo- My coral tank with "happy fish"~ 90g- FOWLR Not the not happy type of fish~ 125g- Freshwater Malawi Cichlids ~10g- Nuvo- The refugees from the Ich of '18
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 10:58 AM   #14
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,270
just a guess, how long should cycling take, also, i should put the reef/live rock in before the cycle right?
__________________
zacheyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 11:02 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,966
Yep, put as much live rock as you can and the base rock too. It will help your cycle. It could take a week or 4 it all depends. I like ammonia dosing to cycle, gives me more control.

Juts make sure you have a test kit, preferably the API saltwater master kit as you will NEED it for cycling properly.

About $20 online

Amazon.com: Aquarium Pharmaceuticals 401M Salt Water Aquarium Master Test Kit for Testing High Range pH, Ammonia, Nitrite, and Nitrate Levels: Pet Supplies
__________________
180g- Mostly BIG fish and some coral. ~80g Nuvo- My coral tank with "happy fish"~ 90g- FOWLR Not the not happy type of fish~ 125g- Freshwater Malawi Cichlids ~10g- Nuvo- The refugees from the Ich of '18
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 11:03 AM   #16
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,270
when i start cycling i will have very frequent questions
__________________
zacheyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 11:06 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,966
And you will get answers. No worries.

good luck, if you need anything else we are all just a post away.
__________________
180g- Mostly BIG fish and some coral. ~80g Nuvo- My coral tank with "happy fish"~ 90g- FOWLR Not the not happy type of fish~ 125g- Freshwater Malawi Cichlids ~10g- Nuvo- The refugees from the Ich of '18
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 11:23 AM   #18
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,270
i will be using the dead shrimp method
also, will the test kit show salinity
if i am planing fish and coral, what should salinity be
__________________
zacheyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 11:26 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,966
You'll need a tester for salinity also. I use a refractometer, really really easy device and here is the link. I keep mine at 1.025 for corals and inverts, fish as well.

eBay - New & used electronics, cars, apparel, collectibles, sporting goods & more at low prices
__________________
180g- Mostly BIG fish and some coral. ~80g Nuvo- My coral tank with "happy fish"~ 90g- FOWLR Not the not happy type of fish~ 125g- Freshwater Malawi Cichlids ~10g- Nuvo- The refugees from the Ich of '18
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 12:31 PM   #20
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,270
what does a refractor do
__________________
zacheyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.