Best fish for 30gl tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mr. D

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I'm new to the saltwater hobby side of things but going to jump right in... I will finally be setting up my tank in the next month if everything goes right... Wondering what some of your favorite fish for a tank this size are so I can knock out my research... Reef safe though

Same here i have a 30 as well ;) i will try and list a few of my favorites

Osc clowns
Bangaii cardinal
Pajama cardinal
Orange stripe prawn goby
Chalk bass
Six line wrasse
Mckoster flasher wrasse
Yellow watchman goby
Midas blenny
Scissortail dartfish
Fire fish (many types)
Blue chromis
Royal gramma
Clown goby
Yellow head jawfish
Harptail blenny

Just a few ;) lol

Can't go wrong with 2 clowns. A goby & pistol shrimp pair is pretty awesome to watch too.

How do you think a pair of osc clowns or gold striped maroon clown would do with a mandarin?

I know I want a mandarin or GSM clown but where would that take me with keeping other fish

I would try to mate the two clowns if I went osc by getting a big one and a smaller one

You won't be able to keep a mandarin in a 30g tank. They require tons of liverock and a mature tank to sustain copepods for them to eat. Best bet would be to try to find one that has been trained to eat other types of food. It can be hit or miss sometimes even with ORA brand mandarins.

Maroon clowns are awfully aggressive, but will be fine in a 30g tank. Be careful if you're adding anything else to that tank though.

AquaRick said:
You won't be able to keep a mandarin in a 30g tank. They require tons of liverock and a mature tank to sustain copepods for them to eat. Best bet would be to try to find one that has been trained to eat other types of food. It can be hit or miss sometimes even with ORA brand mandarins.