Biocube cloudy

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Shap0311

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey guys! I'm new to the whole saltwater realm. I have a biocube 29 with live sand. I'm trying to get the cloudiness to go away. Would putting live rock in help to settle the sand?

If not what would help.

Thanks for any suggestions.

I would put in the LR and run some carbon

Ok, and by run some carbon you mean.... When I say new, I mean new. Haha. Thanks for your help.

Depending on the type of filter you have you can get different types of carbon inserts to go in it. Or you can get a mesh bag with carbon. Pick it up at your local fish store rinse it well then add to your filter.

The use of activated carbon in marine tanks is considered to be a form of chemical filtration. Working through absorption, activated carbon removes gelbstoff (the compounds that give water in an aquarium the yellow tint), some large organic molecules, medications, chlorine, pollutants and toxins, as well as many other types of chemical elements and compounds from the water that a protein skimmer or another means of filtration may not remove.

Stop by your LFS and ask for some then place it in your filter

Ok headed to LFS to pick up some LR and carbon. Thanks I'll keep you posted.

I have LR in and factory filter on tank with pump going. Worker at LFS said this should take the fine silt cloudiness out of tank in a few days.

Please tell me anything I'm missing here

Thanks

Now just wait
Don't rush into getting fish/coral

Thanks for the input. So how long does it take for tank to settle?

To settle? A day of two
To cycle a month or more depends
The longer the better

Shap0311 said:
Thanks for the input. So how long does it take for tank to settle?

It could take a day or two... Mine took about 2 days. That's with 35lbs of live sand.