birthday present

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

philly

Aquarium Advice Freak
i currently have a Seaclone 150 protein skimmer, and a huge eheim pro 2 fillter, set up to my 90 gallon reef tank. i have a choice of upgrading one thing on my tank and im wondering which thing would be most beneficial for my tank. i want my soft corals to thrive and i want to be able to "overstock" my tank.

do you think i should upgrade my skimmer, if so which one should i buy.

i have around 100 pounds of live rock. i am looking for a great bang for your buck hang on protein skimmer. around 250$. im only going to get it if u guys think that the replacement will be much better than my current skimmer.

Someone else will have to give you info on a HOB. I have no experience. I just would not spend more money on a filter.

I hear good things about the remora pro hang on's.
You can get it with the extra addon compartment that allows you to run carbon or whatever and it also stops the bubbles.

I'm with nccmike on this one, go with the Remora Pro. They are excellent skimmers! Check on ebay for some deals on it.

I have the CCS skimmer also in my sump I recommended to a friend to get the remora pro (b/c he needed hang on) also It does a good job on his tank...

what effects will getting a better skimmer have on my tank. Has anyone here used the Seaclone 150 skimmer

I used to have a Seaclone 100 and it was worthless compared to my ASM skimmer. Of course, I wouldn't reccomend an ASM for you because they're for in sump only (and they're massive). But I have heard good things about the bakpak.