Bought a USED SW tank today need advice.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ricky@3rdshift

Aquarium Advice Regular
Ok so I am fairly new to the SW world, but I ran onto a deal today I couldn't pass up.

I bought a running 5 or so gallon Marineland eclipse tank from a LFS for 20.00. It came complete with about 10 to 12 LBS of LR saltwater filtration and all. it was running when I bought and had been for almost a year. No fish at this time.

I emptied the sw into a plastic tub I use to hold SW and LR and left a gallon or so in the tank with the sand. It is just basic marine sand not of the live variety. transported the entire set up home. Great you say, well here comes the catch.

The Lr is completely covered with a slimmy film algee substance with airbubbles and such in the growth as well as a film over some parts of the sand. Should I set the tank back up as it was and let it run and try and clean it up or should I try and brush it off the rocks and try and clean the sand some how? I am wiping the walls down now with a damp cloth as well as all the fixtures and lids etc... b/c its dust dirty on the outsides.

Sorry for the long winded posts but I wanna get this thing the atention it needs asap.
If you need anymore details LMK I will post as I am checking back often for advice.
Ricky