Deep Sand Bed?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

curiousclam120

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey, so like I've said before, I will be starting up my first saltwater aquarium. It will be a mixed reef tank and I want to try to make mistakes to a minimum :rolleyes:. There has been a lot of debate on deep sand beds or shallow sand beds so I am confused on what to believe since I am new and all :blink: So I have some basic background info about this topic, but I want to know if it will be the right thing for the system I am setting up. I will add beneficial worms and snails to the system to help, but I won't be getting LR so I will probably be missing on other beneficial creatures? Anyway, any feedback or suggestions or info on this would be great (y) ! I don't want my sand getting black and releasing toxins into the water, killing all the life. Rather do this the right way!
:thanks:

Does anyone have any input? I'm also wondering which would be a better choice...deep sand bed in the refugium or just rock. I'm leaning towards sand, but I will definitely consider any suggestions. Thanks :)

I would stock it with chaetomorpha-macro algae. Lots of worms and snails that sift through the sand...like bristle worms and such. Amphipods and Copepods would be directly added. What do you think?

are we talking just about your refugium, or the whole tank? I think you're probably going to want some LR in the display, the refugium is up to you. If you plan it big enough, go with a DSB (very fine), rubble rock, and chaeto. Leave room for protein skimmer, phosban/bio media reactor, and heater and you're good to go. Its not often the people put algae in the display tank, i've heard of some very rare micro algae that sells for tons of $, but never seen it.