Diary of my first saltwater tank...Awesome.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Speakerman

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hey everybody, I'm new to the saltwater forum. I just got my new 37 gallon tank that I want to build a reef in and have a lot of questions.

First off, I want to run a Rena Filstar xP1 on it and a good skimmer (don't know anything about skimmers). Where is the CHEAPEST place on the internet to buy an xP1 and what kind of skimmer would you suggest for this size tank.

Also if you have any helpful advice that is unique to setting up and maintaining a saltwater aquarium...please let me know. I've got several successful freshwater aquariums but this is a whole new ball game for me.

Thanks.
-Brad

Attachments

• dsc01266_146.jpg
    dsc01266_146.jpg
    63.3 KB · Views: 45
People get pretty good deals on ebay. Read articles above and do a fishless cycle. Welcome to SW

Robert Fenner's "Conscientious Marine Aquarist" would also be a good start - except for the part about cycling with fish. Old book, but still a good read.

Just ignore the part about using live fish to cycle. We`ve come a long way on that subject since that book was written.

Welcome to the SW side! I'm not sure about skimmers, but on the SW side, it is best to not skimp on costs. Also, that hood might give you problems with pH. Just get a ph for surface ripple.

I need to get a glass top right? I was thinking of getting some glass tops and then building or buying some really sweet light setup for it. I want to grow corals and such...How much wattage should I shoot for when dealing with a tank this size?

Can anybody help me out with choosing a skimmer? I know nothing about them.