Do I need a sump?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello Everybody,

I am new to this hobby and have spent much time reading and studying it's different aspects. And yes, I do understand the patience is the number one key element to doing this right.

I would like to start a 40-60 g sw tank with fish, live rock and some inverts. I would like to get into reefing but from what I read it sounds like it's tricky. Before I go out and buy my product could people give me a check list as to the hardware I should be shopping for? Also, is it possible to put a sump below the tank in a cabinet? What size of sump tank would I need?

I really appreciate this forum and would love to hear back from some of you veterans? Thanks.

Also, is it possible to put a sump below the tank in a cabinet?

Not to sound smart or anything but yes thats where most of us keep them. Others plumb them from their basement or from behind a wall and into a special fish closet/room.

For a 60gal tank I would have a sump no smaller than 20 gal.

Hardware, Since you said you want to get into reef Ill factor that in.

High output lights. Either VHO, MH or PC. Shoot for 300W of florecent light or 2 150W MH and 100W actinic.
Powerheads (number to be determined by flow patterns around rock and corals)
Heater
Hydromoter
Salt
Test kits for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, ph, alkinity, calcium
assorted fish buckets
75-100 lbs of live rock
3"+ depth of sand
quality skimmer
Overflow (if your tank is not 'reefready')
Return pump (if you use a sump)
Misc plumbing supplies to connect sump to main tank