don't laugh at me, i'm a noob......

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dragonfisher33

Aquarium Advice Addict
ok, don't laugh at me since i'm new to SW (i have always had FW planted tanks). Is there a difference between marine food and regular FW food? can i feed tetra flakes to marine fish? or frozen bloodworms/freeze dried bloodworms to my marine buddies? also some fish needs some greens in their diet, can i feed them the regular algae wafers? again, don't laugh, i'm a noob:):thanks:

There are generally different nutritional requirements for saltwater fish. I would try to get some food that's specifically for marine fish. Depending on the size of your tank I would suggest looking into frozen food; mine costs $7 and will feed my 3 fish for months.

As for the herbivores you can buy Nori sheets from a grocery store and feed them that.

Though one thing that does carry over into saltwater from fresh are frozen bloodworms. My tank goes nuts for them, and my algae blenny will only eat algae and them. It is a once a month thing though, as I stick to gut loaded mysis and brine shrimp that come frozen.

I think you should feed a variety of fresh foods and minimize the use of flake foods entirely. Otherwise SW fish will eat almost any fresh food FW fish would eat. Prepared frozen foods and flake foods do have nutrients added for FW vs SW fish.