Drilling glass for power heads?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

chaotic_reefer

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
So how would I go about drilling the glass, once I had the right diamond bit hole saw that I'm assuming is used, is this done a lot by anyone at home? I feel like it could damage the integrity of the tank glass as far as holding weight, my plan was to do this on tanks up to about 60 gallons.

This seems like a pretty big change to a glass tank, I don't have anything acrylic.

Does anyone have any info or opinion on this, I've never done it before.

I'd also like to use a spare tank I have and make a built in over flow for it to go down beneath the tank, inside the stand for a sump/refugium, I see a lot of cool tanks that have one back corner sectioned off "obviously silicones off as well" it looks like it's just an overflow behind the black plastic walls people have made, what should I use to add one of those overflow areas, I've never done this before and if I can avoid buying a ready made reef system tank I'd like to, any input/opinions are appreciated, thanks in advance